Our governors

The Torfield and Saxon Mount Academy Trust is governed by a Board of Directors, supported by an Academy Advisory Board. Our directors have a wide experience of skills and our Advisory Board members include parents and school staff. Together we work in partnership with the Executive Headteacher to strategically develop the organisation, provision and resources to provide high quality education for our pupils.

The Board of Directors is the accountable body for schools in the Trust and has a responsibility to set the vision for the Trust, monitor and hold the schools to account for educational performance, and oversee financial performance. The Advisory Board supports the Board of Directors by monitoring aspects of teaching and learning and safeguarding in the schools. We are delighted that both our schools are graded by Ofsted as 'good' with outstanding features and that East Sussex County Council categorise Saxon Mount as Outstanding and Torfield as good in their overall effectiveness.

It is now approaching two years since Torfield and Saxon Mount Schools converted to become a Multi Academy Trust and it seems timely to reflect upon and celebrate all that has been achieved in this time.

Converting to Academy status was a major development for our schools and was undertaken in the knowledge and conviction that this would positively impact on the education and outcomes for our pupils. At the heart of TASMAT is our clear vision and outstanding senior leadership of our schools. We aim for and achieve outstanding provision. The quality of teaching and learning is recognised by internal and external assessors and advisors as being at least good or outstanding and this has improved further over the last two years. Well done and congratulations to all our teaching staff! Our staff share in our high expectations and aspirations and as a result many of our pupils make outstanding progress.

Our school buildings and resources are continually being developed. Trustees rigorously monitor finances and accounts to ensure that the pupils’ needs are well met within high quality appropriate environments with access to high quality resources. Visitors tell us how much they appreciate the quality of environment at our schools.

All this however could not be achieved without the care and support of parents and carers. Your interest, encouragement and support is extremely important to ensure that pupils attend well and maximise their access to the excellent opportunities offered in our schools. We value the views of parents and carers which are gathered at regular intervals throughout the year (at parent evenings and Annual Review meetings etc.) as this helps us to plan and develop provision at the schools. We also value the contribution of each of our School Councils, which members of the Board of Directors attend to hear first-hand what the pupils are thinking about their schools.

As Governors we regularly undertake training and development to ensure that we are well placed to make decisions and look to strategically plan for the future. The national and local landscape of education is continually changing and developing and we feel well placed to consider further developments of our Trust, with all decisions based on enhancing the wellbeing and achievements of our pupils.

As Governors (either as Directors or members of our Academy Advisory Board) we are immensely proud of all pupils and all members of staff and all that is achieved by our schools. We will relentlessly continue to provide an outstanding educational experience at TASMAT.

Jenny Smith
Chair of TASMAT Directors
Autumn 2016

Torfield and Saxon Mount Academy Trust
  • Board of Directors
  • Jenny Smith, Chair
  • Sue Taylor, Director / Teaching and Learning
  • Mike Clarke, Director / Finance
  • Jean Haigh, Director / Developments and Projects
  • Sarah Fitzjohn-Scott, Director / Safeguarding
  • Richard Preece, Executive Headteacher
  • Academy Advisory Board
  • Sue Taylor, Chair
  • Sarah Fitzjohn-Scott, Director
  • Richard Preece, Executive Headteacher
  • David Wharton, Appointed Governor
  • Robin Mitchell-Davis, Appointed Governor
  • Carol Dobson, Staff Governor
  • Tracey Nottage, Staff Governor
  • Amanda Jagot, Head of School, Saxon Mount (Associate Member)
  • Natalie Shuttleworth, Head of School, Torfield (Associate Member)